The TEN DON"Ts for New Sculptors

This section is for all our talented ladies who wish to share their OOAK gifts with others.
Dannas_Storybookbabies

The TEN DON"Ts for New Sculptors

Post by Dannas_Storybookbabies »

OK...I am officially on sculpt number seven.....or let's make that head number seven as I have only finished two mini's and have five other heads floating around some with one or two limbs, but none complete...but in this time I have truly learned some essentials on how to be a good sculptor...not that I am a good sculptor (I am a noob sculptor LOL or sculptor-wannabe)...but I know what NOT to do if you want to have a hope of having decent sculpts...so let me SHARE the benefit of my few trial and errors as I know some people are as new to sculpting as me and might can benefit (and please keep in mind that I am seriously new to sculpting too so for seasoned sculptors feel free to jump in and amend these don'ts as you see fit.....I am clearly not an expert on this topic :0):

1. NEVER use baby oil on uncured prosculpt.....NEVER, EVER!!!! The clay will not cure and any hair you try to stick on it will not stick well and you will definitely be bald from pulling your own hair out....now other clays you might can, but I personally haven't used any other clays so I can only speak to this!! To my happy delight...my last sculpt I actually ROOTED with a rooting tool mohair into straight prosculpt and had wonderful success in the hair holding firmly...I was able to even COMB the hair without it falling out...how is that for success??..lol...